Interview questions: Author John Anthony Miller Answers

Interview questions aout writing:

What do you find more difficult, coming up with ideas or writing them down the way you want them?

John Anthony Miller: Coming up with ideas is fairly easy, but finding an idea that’s interesting enough to justify the research required to support it is a bit harder. Once I have the idea, I normally frame the beginning and ending of the book, then the story becomes what happens in between. That’s where the original idea changes. Sometimes characters take on a life of their own, and tend to go in directions different from what I originally planned.

What advice do you have for new writers?

John Anthony Miller: Try to work on your writing every day – even if it’s only for 15 or 20 minutes

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

John Anthony Miller:  I tend to have several false starts when I begin a new book. Whatever plot, era, and location I choose has to interest me enough that I’ll spend a year researching it and writing about it. Sometimes I get started and something else attracts my attention and I change direction and put whatever I had originally started on my list of future books

What is the hardest part of writing a book?

John Anthony Miller: The hardest part for me is getting the first 5 or 6 chapters fluid enough to form a strong foundation for the book. I write a prologue and epilogue first, like bookends, without knowing the story. Then I write the story that takes place in between.

Leave a Reply

